A different perspective

I think I have found my niche in photography…bird photography brings a joy to my life and I take pleasure in capturing their feathers and habits through my lens.

But there are times I wish I saw other scenes or subjects in my view finder.  Something to give me a new or different perspective.

I had that chance on Saturday.   I visited Linda Coleman, a harness maker here in the Annapolis Valley of Nova Scotia.

As I pulled into her driveway, I was greeted by the sight of her draft horses in the field as they were munching on a snack of hay….but it was definitely a different perspective…all I saw was large horses from the rear!   Three long horse tails, gracefully speckled with snowflakes were blowing and dancing madly to the tune of the winter winds. I could hardly wait to get out of the car and capture that moment.   It was an photo that I will remember taking for the rest of my life.   I knew instantly that I would love it and call it Tail Wind.

tail wind

Tail Wind

Once I finally got inside her harness shop, which is still a work in progress…I was instantly amazed at the amount of detailed and intricate work that goes into making a harness or a bridle.  Seriously, they are works of art…and pride of craftsmanship is evident in her work.  Leather dyed according to the customer’s order, precision stitching and silver details are all part and parcel of this art.   And let there be no mistake…harness making is an art.

bridles

I would have loved to have spent more time there, admiring her work, taking photos of her beautiful horses.  But time in that harness shop gave me a new perspective on art and craftsmanship.   Art and beauty is what you see and where you see it.   Those horse tails waving in the cold winds were beautiful to me, and Linda’s harnesses and bridles were art. Simple and timeless beauty.  Just as I like to see it.

 

3 comments

  1. Richard Reeve · February 21, 2016

    Nice images. I love looking at things from a different perspective – I get some strange looks sometimes, especially if I am not carrying a camera 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Danielle Sherman · February 22, 2016

    I am so glad you enjoyed your time at Linda’s. I have yet to visit but now am encouraged to drop in. Beautiful horses, beautiful harness work!

    Like

    • karencookfineartphotography · February 22, 2016

      Thank you for your visit Danielle! Linda’s harness shop is a work in progress..but her workmanship and attention to detail was impressive.

      Like

Leave a comment